Carbon Cycle Scientific Steering Group (CCSSG)


December 2015 update

The CCIWG is in the process of revamping its public engagement mechanism via the U.S. Carbon Cycle Science Program Office. The information below and other references to CCSSG meetings on this website should be considered archived for reference purposes.


The Carbon Cycle Scientific Steering Group (CCSSG), established by the Carbon Cycle Interagency Working Group (CCIWG), is a group of experts involved in carbon cycle research and application from federal, state, university, and non-government organizations. The CCSSG interacts closely with the CCIWG and the Carbon Cycle Science Program Office. The function of the CCSSG is to provide individual as well as broad scientific and application input to the CCIWG as it develops and administers carbon cycle science programs within the federal government. The CCSSG provides input on the direction of the U.S. Carbon Cycle Science Program, scientific content and its relevance to the various stakeholder communities, identifying gaps and potential new areas of emphasis. The CCSSG will remain abreast of relevant issues in related scientific bodies and stakeholder communities and help ensure that the CCIWG is aware of these issues. Some news items regarding prior CCSSG meetings are available here.


CCSSG Charter

CCSSG Members:

(as of May 2015)

Peter Thornton   •   Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, Tennessee (Chair)

Angelicque White   •  Oregon State University, Corvallis, Oregon (new member 2014)

Melanie Mays •   Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, TN

Arlyn Andrews   •   NOAA/ESRL/GMD, Boulder, Colorado

Aslam Khalil   •   Portland State University, Portland, Orefon

Craig Carlson •  University of California, Santa Barbara, California (OCB SSC Chair)

Daniel Brown  •   University of Michigan, Michigan

Deborah Nicole Huntzinger • Northern Arizona University (NACP SSG co-chair)

Galen McKinley   •   University of Wisconsin - Madison

Joellen L. Russell• University of Arizona, Tucson, Arizona

Karen Seto   •   Yale University, New Haven, Connecticut

Kevin Gurney   •   Arizona State University, Tempe Arizona

Steven Smith  •   Joint Global Change Research Institute, College Park, Maryland

Emily Pidgeon  • Conservation International, Arlington, Virginia

Michael Lomas   •   Bigelow Laboratory for Ocean Sciences East Boothbay, Maine

Molly Macauley   •   Resources for the Future, Washington, D.C.

Patricia Romero Lankao   •   National Center for Atmospheric Research, Boulder, Colorado

Ray Najjar  •   Pennsylvania State University, University Park, PA (NACP SSG co-Chair)

Rich Conant   •   NREL/Colorado State University, Fort Collins, Colorado

Rob Striegl   •   US Geological Survey, Boulder, Colorado

Steve Emerson   •   University of Washington, Seattle, Washington

Steve Rose   •   EPRI - Electric Power Research Institute, Washington, D.C.

Steve Wofsy  •   Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachussetts

Ted Schuur   •   Northern Arizona University, Flagstaff, Arizona

Wei-Jun Cai   •   University of Delaware, Delaware

Yude Pan   •   USDA Forest Service, Newtown Square, Pennsylvania